Review: Origins by Benjamin Moore

I finally found something to paint and went out and got a quart of Origins by Benjamin Moore at my local Canadian Tire.  As I explained in this post here, Origins is a Benjamin Moore line of paint exclusive to Canadian Tire stores.  I wanted to see if it was comparable to other Ben Moore paints.

Origins-Benjamin-Moore

I bought a quart of dark gray paint in the colour “Cosmo”.  I ordered the Ultimate Interior in eggshell, since it is supposed to hold up to washing better and it was going on a dresser.  Now you already know the whole fiasco of how I painted this paint over oil based paint and it didn’t stick.  But look how well the coverage was without primer:

Origins-Benjamin-Moore

Origins-Benjamin-Moore

The paint was thick and went on very smooth.  It took 2 coats without primer to cover the black.

I also used a test can of CIL’s paint for this project.  I’ve used CIL in the past and always returned to my trusty Ben Moore, but this time it surprised me!  The CIL paint was also nice and thick, the colour turned out fabulous, and it went on nice and smooth.  I guess they’ve made some improvements in the last few years.

CIL-paint

I’ll be back Monday with the project reveal.  Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a comment